Early Thanksgiving Day

I know it’s not officially for another few weeks but today really feels like it to me.

2d8a35c215757ef3285158b5637bb70a

Today marks 2 months that I have been living a Plant Based lifestyle and I feel great. I woke up this morning after a great night of sleep and decided to weigh myself. If you remember from my earlier posts, I originally had planned on not weighing in to check my progress until my Doctor visits. My next scheduled visit is at the end of December but I had to weigh in this morning. Today I am starting a 30 day plan of juicing based on Joe Cross’ Reboot with Joe plan and I needed to check my starting weight so I have a mark at the end of the 30 days.

In two months time I have lost 62 pounds!

200_s

I just love that picture. Belushi was one of my favorites.

Sixty two pounds in two months on a plant based eating approach and I haven’t regretted it once. Charlene has also lost 20 pounds in two months eating a Plant Based approach to foods. She really didn’t have much to lose to begin with and she looks great! The interesting part for me is that for the first month I really couldn’t exercise due to my weight, and I still lost 62 pounds in two months time. I referred to today being like an early Thanksgiving Day not only because of the weight loss, but the fact that I am back to running again without the knee problems that stopped me a few years back. I have a lot to be thankful for and I know it. Today, when Charlene and I finished our 5K run, I also had a weird bit of irony happen to me.

Years back, when I dropped that large amount of weight and had started running, I had something occur one day. I had just finished a run and it was a really good one. It was a beautiful sunny day and I was feeling great. As I walked around the block to wind down and stretch a bit, I spotted something on the sidewalk near our old house. One of the old sidewalk blocks had the impression of a leaf in the cement. The leaf had fallen into the wet cement years ago, left it’s impression, and was now long gone. The impression of the leaf had been faded by the elements over time but it was still visible. It struck me that at that point in my life that is what I had done to my body. I had changed it and left a mark.

Today, as Charlene and I walked after our run, I spotted one of the new sidewalk blocks that had been replaced recently and what did I see when I looked down?

img_1405_fotor

A new impression of a leaf that had fallen into the wet cement of a replaced sidewalk block.

I’m a Christian and believe in God. I believe he plays an active role in our lives whether we acknowledge it or not. It felt to me like a higher power telling me it was a fresh start and I was going to be fine like last time. It just really struck me. Like he was saying, “Yep, I got your back this time too.”

So with everything happening today yeah, it kinda felt like Thanksgiving Day. I’m thankful for the weight I have dropped. I’m thankful for the way I feel. I’m thankful for not being on any more medications. I’m thankful that I am able to run once again.

But most of all, I’m thankful that my wife Charlene is on this journey with me.

I know there are individuals that stop by and read this blog as I check the stats every so often. If anyone would like any information regarding the different plans, equipment we use, etc. please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Leave a Reply

